Paul Organ

porgan
Rider Profile
HometownHoffman Estates, IL
UniversityGeorge Washington University
MajorEconomics/Math and German
View Rider Blog (1)
Biography

I come from Hoffman Estates, Illinois, in the northwest suburbs of Chicago. Right now, I’m a sophomore at the George Washington University in Washington, DC. I’m majoring in economics and minoring in Math and German. I want to use my degree to work in education, either as a teacher or doing something with education reform. Here at GW I’m a member of the University Honors Program and a House Proctor (or RA) in a freshman dorm. Outside of class and work, I especially enjoy getting involved with community service. I am a member of a co-ed community service fraternity (Alpha Phi Omega) and we participate in all kinds of service in and around Washington, DC. I’ve played violin for 16 years, and this semester am playing in a piano/violin/cello trio. I love to get outside, whether by running along the National Mall, biking up to Mount Vernon, or just hanging out in the city. I am biking both to raise money for an important cause and to see the country from a completely unique perspective.

Personal Statement

Until recently, cancer was something that I knew from afar. Members of my extended family had it, family members of my friends had it, but never anyone I knew especially well. Last November, that changed. One of my best friends was diagnosed with kidney cancer, and all of a sudden I knew exactly what people meant when they said, “cancer is something that affects everyone.” Seeing someone who is so young and full of promise afflicted with this disease motivates me do to everything I can to make sure that in the future, no one will have to experience something so terrible. I may never be a doctor or surgeon, but biking across the country, raising awareness and promoting cancer research is something I can do, and I am glad to have the opportunity to help defeat cancer.