Linsey Rock

lrock
Rider Profile
HometownPeotone, IL
UniversityUniversity of Illinois
MajorKinesiology (Physical Therapy)
View Rider Blog (8)
Biography

I was born and raised in Peotone, IL, a small town an hour south of Chicago. I have been lucky enough to have two amazing parents, who have been a big part of my life. They were there for me at all my Volleyball, Soccer, and Basketball games in high school. I also have an older brother away at college in New York. I am 19 years old and a freshman at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign. I currently am undecided but I am looking into Environmental Science or Chemistry. I love the outdoors and ever since I was a little kid, I have been climbing trees in my backyard and swimming in the lake. I am overjoyed that I can be a part of this experience to see our country from a different perspective and make a difference in other’s lives.

Personal Statement

My best friend and I made a notebook full of things we would like to do before we died. This notebook was filled with many far-fetched ideas and dreams, including biking across America. This dream is especially important, because her mother’s life was taken by leukemia. Jackie, my best friend in junior high, was born with a tumor wrapped around her optical nerve, cochlea in her left ear, and bone tissue on the left side of her face. The doctors were able to remove this tumor, but were not able to keep her vision in her left eye. Since this time she has fought through over 38 reconstructive surgeries and will be going for her 39th in December. I remember seeing her after her surgeries; she looked miserable, but somehow she always remained positive about life. Since I decided to be a part of this team my friend, classmate, and teammate Lisa, who is so great in every single way, has been diagnosed with brain cancer and is currently fighting against it. I ride for her and all the others that are currently fighting for their lives. Now, a year after Lisa began battling, she is cancer free.