Jun Uchikura

juchikura
Rider Profile
HometownTokyo, Japan
UniversityUniversity of Illinois
MajorFinance
No posts by this rider yet.
Biography

I am a 21 years old exchange student from University of Tokyo. I am majoring in Finance at my home university, hoping to become an international investment banker in the future. My dream is to start my own consulting business. At University of Illinois, I am residing in the College of Liberal Arts. I am taking classes that interest me, as well as taking classes to improve my English ability. This is my first time in United States and I have had the best time of my life so far. I enjoy meeting people from all over the world, and learning new things daily in a completely different environment. One of my hobbies is to travel to see new places on bike. I biked from Tokyo to Kyoto (600km) earlier in the year, where I found my new passion. I had an amazing experience and the trip has made me want to travel more in the future.

Personal Statement

My mentor is currently battling breast cancer in Japan. She is someone I consider as my family member, therefore, the news hit me hard. I was not sure what I could do because I am studying abroad in the United States. When I heard about the Illini 4000, I thought this was a great way to spread the awareness to people and it is something that I can do. I hope to learn everything that Illini 4000 has to offer for the team and bring the same concept back to my own university. I want to start my own organization at University of Tokyo to continue spreading the awareness when I go back home.