Eamon O'Hara

Eamon
Rider Profile
HometownShorewood, IL
UniversityUniversity of Illinois
MajorPsychology
View Rider Blog (13)
Biography

My name is Eamon O'Hara, I'm a junior at the University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign studying Psychology, hailing from Shorewood, Illinois--a small town next to Joliet. I'm 20 years old, and for 20 of those years, I've been the son of the two best parents in the world--Pat and Terri O'Hara. I am the youngest of three older sisters: Margo--6 years older, Kate--10 years older, and Julia--12 years older. I have two brothers-in-law, Jim (married to Julia) and Matthew (married to Kate). I have 2 nephews Keagan (4 years old) and Reilly (2 years old) and a niece (cute years old) who are all continuously my biggest source of joy. I would be nothing without the love and support my family has given me throughout my life. When I'm not studying or working, my two largest passions are playing guitar and skating.

Personal Statement

Cancer has been a prevalent motif throughout the story of my life. I've lost a number of family members to cancer and have experienced the tragedy and pain of this terrible disease firsthand. Having close family members diagnosed with cancer certainly changes the way I've perceived the world. Mostly, it's helped me to realize that we, as humans, are definitely not in control of everything, and that the experiences life has to offer are so incredible that skipping an experience is only hurting yourself. The pain cancer produces is so much more than a "fight" with cancer, so much more than a "battle" or even a "war". The psychological pain of cancer is devastating. My number one reason for riding this summer is that pain precisely. A close uncle of mine was recently diagnosed with a completely preventable cancer, and if my riding across this country for cancer awareness makes even one person aware, then I can know that I made a difference. We are not infinite beings by any means, but if we can teach others through our actions, our ride, how to, at the very least, be aware of cancer, then that's good enough for me.